The Slayer Concert I Went To But Never Talked About

For my boyfriend’s 20th birthday, we had gone to see Slayer play at The Forum in Inglewood. I’ve never experienced a concert in such a vast venue like this one, filled with people all around. I’ve only experienced more intimate, smaller venues, such as The Observatory in Santa Ana. Being that this is a major artist with plenty of fans, I didn’t know what to expect, as I usually vouch for quietness. This was a heavy-metal band, so I knew I was in for something that I’m not used to, but I love him & that’s why I had gotten us both tickets. I was only familiar with screaming vocals & blaring guitars in post-hardcore music, which is way lighter & I can handle such things in small doses. Slayer on the other hand, would do that throughout each song as that was their genre. Thankfully, him & I thought ahead. He made me a playlist of his favorites along with popular songs that they’d probably perform before we went to the concert. I listened to the whole thing & I was super glad I did because I was able to pinpoint what songs I liked which surprised me that I would enjoy it & actually listen to it myself on my own time.


When we arrived at the concert, a couple opening acts played then finally them, & it was like I was launched into a different world. They played some of the songs he had showed me, so I was able to appreciate it a lot. I had such a fun & great time & I wouldn’t mind coming to another concert of theirs. I’m really happy Ivan opened my mind to a genre of music I neglected & was able to allow me to love it as well.

Leave a comment