My Thoughts When I Turned 21

I told myself I couldn’t wait to drink. The reality is though, it wasn’t that glamorous of a thought, it was more of an afterthought. I was more concerned with how much time I had left to do the things I wanted to do or what age I would want to be when I completed so-&-so. It was scary. I feel like I’m in a good place but just how much longer would I be comfortable in said place? I realized not much longer & what exactly I would change.


The day in itself was perfect. I love simple and heartfelt things. I would much rather have that than something overdone, loud, & exaggerated. I used to think to be showy but once I learned more about myself & became more comfortable in my own skin, I had an epiphany where I only felt like I did because most other people like that instead. The truth is that I love quiet & I love intimacy between myself & others. I had breakfast with my best friend, work where my coworkers celebrated with me, dinner with my family, then finally, the evening with my boyfriend.


It happened at a time where I wasn’t interested in drinking so much, only rarely. I used to beforehand, but I had realized it was becoming a habit so then I stopped along with Ivan not being a drinker which also fueled me away from that path. We do love wine, champagne, some sake, & our share of Hennessy though. Was I excited about finally drinking legally? Yes. Was I going to be drinking more? No. If anything I was more excited about being treated more as an adult than someone who wasn’t able to do those things listed above. I felt more like myself & proud of who I’ve become at my age, so it was a good day.

Leave a comment